Bridge Farm Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Bridge Farm
Cider Name: Dry
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 750ml bottle
Smell: Rustic apples/Dry
Colour: Golden/Yellow
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 10/04/13

We’re half-way through the week now and I’m enjoying being back on the cider, especially when I could not have it through any fault of my own. Anyway, I have to pick a bottle from my ever bare shelf and it turns out today I will be having the Bridge Farm Dry Cider.

This is the 6th Bridge Farm cider I’ve had now and to be honest most of them have been of a decent quality. I can’t say they are one of my favourite Somerset producers (they have a hell of a competition for a start!), but they do make a good honest product that’s worth trying. My personal favourite of theirs has to be the Porters Perfection (SV), although why they brought out a chilli cider was a bit random and a bold move!

They have been producing their cider for over 20 years in Yeovil and as expected it’s a 100% juice cider. This cider is blended from multiple cider apple varieties, which have been picked and harvested from their own and local orchards and then slowly fermented. All in all, it’s a standard and decent process they follow and I’m looking forward to trying it.

I opened this bottle and was hoping this was going to be a still cider and thankfully it was. It poured a golden/yellow colour and had a tempting dry rustic aroma to it. Lovely start to this one and now onto the drinking. There’s a crisp dry apple feel to the beginning of this and then the dryness just takes over this bad boy. It’s not quite a bone dry cider, but it isn’t far off. Acidity is fairly low and has a moderate level of tannins to keep you interested, with a lightly sharp citric feel coming through gently. I can’t say I’m blown away with this cider, but it’s a small step up from their medium for me and is tasty. It’s well worth trying for someone who likes their ciders on the drier side.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

