Gwynt y Ddraig Farmhouse Cloudy Scrumpy Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Gwynt y Ddraig
Cider Name: Farmhouse Cloudy Scrumpy
Region: Glamorgan
ABV: 5.3%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apple pie
Colour: Dull yellow/orange
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: 30/04/13
Date: Corks of Cotham, Bristol

For the first time in like forever I’m going to be having 2 new ciders in one night. This certainly is a break from the norm and I am finally back into the swing of things. If you had been reading my earlier post, then you’ll realise this is also my 2nd Gwynt y Ddraig cider of the night too. Following on from the Dabinett (SV) cider, I will now be having the Farmhouse Cloudy Scrumpy.

As mentioned previously, Gwynt y Ddraig are a large Welsh cider producer and make a whole host of different ciders/perries. I’ve actually lost count of how many they actually make, but it’s fair to say you won’t be able to count them on all your fingers. You may need to use your toes too to count every one of them! All are fairly decent, with the Gold Medal cider being my favourite of the lot by a fair margin!

The name suggests it’s cloudy and it doesn’t disappoint on that front. Just from glancing into the bottle it’s cloudy and has a layer of sediment resting on the bottom too. That’s how I always like to see a cider, but it may not be to everyone’s liking. There’s very few details on the bottle, as I’ve found with most of their ciders, but it does mention it’s a medium/dry cider and can be enjoyed with bread and cheese. Though what cider doesn’t actually go well with bread and cheese?!? They always go together like a glove to a hand from my experience!

As I poured this cider I heard what I didn’t want to hear…..a fizz! Oh how I wish there was more ciders in bottles that haven’t been carbonated! That’s probably why I prefer a draught cider. You can’t beat a proper cider that is as quiet as a mouse! This poured cloudy (though pour gently and it might be clearer) and was a dull yellow/orange colour. It’s similar looking to an Old Rosie. This certainly looks the part, even if the bubbles did put a dampener on things.

I take in the aroma and there’s just two words for it…….apple pie! I do love the smell of apple pie, though I prefer it to be from an apple pie and not my cider. It will make me want to eat it at this rate and the glass could break my teeth! I calmly take in my first sip and it tastes exactly like it smells like. It has that fruity apple pie taste, lightly sour and a moderately dryer finish. There’s some acidity and tannins in the mix, but it’s a fairly low-level in my opinion and not the most exciting of ciders. It’s easy to drink, pleasant and tasty, though lacking any kind of wow factor. It’s one of those ciders you’d give to someone to try to entice them into cider and not really for your hardened cider drinker. I could happily drink this, though it would never be near a first choice.

Would I buy this again?: Yes, but not a first choice
Overall Rating: 7/10

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    citysuppers said,

    I haven’t come across this cider producer before. I’m in Wales this weekend so will look out for it. I recently tried a Spanish cider ‘el Gaitero’ really light and perfect for summer time drinking. I’ll be writing a post about it soon, pop over to our blog if you want to read about it.

    • 2

      TheCiderBlog said,

      Ah I’ve had the El Gaitero before too. It’s not a bad cider, but not necessarily something I’d usually go for. Fairly wine-like if I remember right, but did have a nice tangy taste. My review of it is at http://wp.me/p1kTr3-1LR. I look forward to seeing your review soon!

      Cheers,

      Nick

      • 3

        citysuppers said,

        Agree it’s quite wine like. I drank it on a sunny day in the garden so may have been seduced by the surroundings. I’m on a cider journey of discovery so any tips welcome.

  2. 4

    citysuppers said,

    Here is the link to my review http://bit.ly/18eIkon. Have also left a comment on your El Gaitero page. Interested to hear your thoughts on it.

    Thanks,
    Sarah


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

