Possmann Frau Rauscher Speierling Apfelwein Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Possmann
Cider Name: Frau Rauscher Speierling Apfelwein
Region: Frankfurt, Germany
ABV: 5.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 1 litre bottle
Smell: Apples/Wine/Dry
Colour: Dull yellow
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Unknown shop in Frankfurt, Germany
Date: 01/05/13

Up today is a little bit something different to normal. This is the first time in nearly 2 years I’ve had an Apfelwein and only the 2nd review ever, after previously reviewing the Kelterei Jorg Stier Echter Speierling Cider. I managed to get hold of this from a friend, who recently went on a road trip round Europe and managed to pick me up something along the way. Though I’m off to Frankfurt myself next month, so I will have plenty more to sample when I do! The Apfelwein I will be tasting today is the Frau Rauscher Speierling from Possmann.

This isn’t actually the first time I’ve had a Possmann cider come to think of it. When I was in Berlin a few years back I remember trying their Frankfurter Apfelwein and had a distinct recollection it tasted just like an Olde English cider. For anyone who has had that before, then you would know it isn’t the best taste in the world!

Well what do I know about Possmann? Actually very little about 5 minutes ago, but thanks to the power of Google I now know a hell of a lot more. Just reading up about them, they remind me of a Westons/Thatchers. They have a long family history and one of the biggest Apfelwein producers in Germany. When their bottling plant can handle 20 million litres, you know it must be a big beast. With that much being produced, just how ‘real’ really is it? It would be interesting to find out how they produce their cider. If anyone knows, then feel free to let me know.

This particular Apfelwein is called Frau Rauscher, which looks to be named after some old and fairly tumpy lady. She actually looks more like a bloke in the picture really. Though maybe a few of these she might actually look a bit more attractive! The first thing to note about the bottle is it’s reused, which looks like a fairly common thing in Germany. Next thing to notice is it is actually a fairly cloudy cider, which does please me immensely. Lastly is just how big the bottle is. 1 litre bottles?!?! I think we should have cider over here at that size now ;). From Googling a few of the words on the bottle, it appears ‘Speierling’ means a specific type of cider that is more astringent than their regular Apfelwein. It looks to get its astringency from the berries of service trees being added to the mix. Sounds interesting enough. Now after that minor education of their Apfelwein, I think it’s best I go give this one a try!

After struggling with what felt like a glued on screwcap, I got this cider open and managed to pour out a pint of the drink. It was dull yellow, had a light natural sparkle and a deep wine like aroma. When they call it Apfelwein, it really does mean what it says on the tin. It’s a cross between a wine and apple smell, with also a hint of dryness in the air.

Finally after admiring the aroma, I take in my first sip and boy that’s sour! There’s no subtlety to this, it is sour right from the off and if you don’t like that, then walk away now! There’s definitely an Eastern cider feel to this, lots of tartness, sharp/acidic and appley goodness. Once you get over the initial burst of flavour, it is lightly watery, has a drying finish and is just like eating a sour apple. It reminds me of a Thatchers Heritage with a sour twist to it. I can’t say it’s necessarily my favourite type of cider, but I enjoyed this enough to want to have another one.

Would I buy this again?: Yes, but not a first choice
Overall Rating: 7/10

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I’ve never tasted a Speierling apfelwein, but I believe you’re right that the berries are added to increase tannins and astringency. It’d be one way to add some complexity without actually using bittersweet or bittersharp fruit. Perhaps it’d be like throwing some wild apples into an Eastern Counties cider in the absence of cider-variety fruit? Distillery Lane in Maryland has made a cider with aronia berries, perhaps a similar idea to the Speierling.

  2. 2

    cider guerrilla said,

    Hi,
    If you are coming to frankfurt feel free to contact me to show you some good places here 😉
    Sidragermany@googlemail.com


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

