Ross-On-Wye Gin Pear (SV) Perry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Ross-On-Wye
Perry Name: Gin Pear (SV)
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Sweet pear/Elderflower
Colour: Light straw
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 02/05/13

The weather has been absolutely wonderful today, I’ve had a stroll to the Bristol Cider Shop and got in 4 more beauties to try over the next few days. There’s a 50/50 split between the cider & perry, however today I just felt like a perry before the BBQ kicks off in a bit. Up first tonight is the Gin Pear Single Variety (SV) Perry from Ross-On-Wye.

For anyone who has seen my past reviews, Ross-On-Wye are up there in being one of my favourite cider/perry producers from Herefordshire. Generally their ciders/perries are oak matured (though not always) and always seem to have that extra bit of pizazz about them. Though of course they have had a few that weren’t to my taste, but that’s to be expected! You can’t please everyone all of the time can you.

What really caught my eye with this perry when I saw it was its name Gin Perry. You immediately think that’s a gin mixed with pears (I know some people who wish it was!), if you don’t know your pears, but infact it’s a name of a pear. I’ve been struggling to find much information about this variety of pear, though it does appear to be one of the rarer ones. From what I have found, it appears to be a light tasting pear and has medium tannins/acidity. Could this possibly be a decent pear to compete with the likes of Thorn & Blakeney Red in the perry SV market? Well i’ll have to find out right now won’t I…

The bottle and labelling are fairly standard for Ross-On-Wye. It mentions it’s a full juice perry, has natural sugars and has sulphites added. All bog standard really. It also mentions they have been making Perry for over 70 years at their farm and there are over 30 varieties of perry pears onsite of their farm. It’s quite an impressive amount, as I’d struggle to even name 10 perry pears really! Once I’ve gone past the labelling, there’s a layer of sediment lining the bottom and could well turn cloudy if this is not poured carefully.

I cracked open the perry, poured it all out and thankfully it’s a perfectly still perry. Sure there was some minor initial bubbles, but certainly nothing to spoil my day. The aroma is of lightly sweet pears, elderflower and some light citrus notes. It’s actually quite an interesting smell and delicate. Finally I take in my first sip and I do like it. You get a light sweet pear taste to begin with, then then turns into an elderflower wine type feel and a long drying aftertaste. Acidity is moderate, is fairly tart/citric and just one of these drinks that I like the more I have it. I could see this appealing to a wine drinker as a tasty alternative. I’ll certainly look to buy another bottle of these in the future.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

