Hogan’s Panking Pole Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Hogan’s
Cider Name: Panking Pole
Region: Warwickshire
ABV: 6.2%
Taste: Medium
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Apples
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Essex Cider Shop
Date: 05/05/13

We have finished the cider festival for the evening and time for a night round a friends with good food and good cider. Up tonight is the Hogan’s Panking Pole cider.

It’s been like forever since I’ve had a Hogan’s cider, though it wasn’t a bad experience last time I tried it. It’s just not often I’ve seen more than their standard cider about. Luckily for me my friend picked up a new one from the Essex Cider Shop recently.

The Panking pole is a pole used during harvesting which has a hook on the end and used to shake the apple/pear trees. They sure do have some interesting named terms in the cider industry, though I think it just adds character to it.

Well what do I know about this particular cider? Not a lot to be honest. It’s not made from concentrate, no sugar is added prior to fermentation and the apples are sourced from the three counties of Herefordshire, Worcestershire and Gloucestershire. They also say it is a dry, cloudy cider with typical cider apple bitterness and aromas.

I finally got round to pouring it out of the box and it was clear, Golden/Amber in colour and has a lovely apple aroma. My first sip was decent but not amazing. There’s a gorgeous, rich apple taste to begin with but for me there was a little bit of an anticlimax. It started well but just didn’t have the happy ending I was hoping for. Don’t get me wrong it is easy drinking and fairly tasty, it just doesn’t have a wow factor for me. I would liken this to a bittersweet apple juice personally. I can see this going well for someone as an introduction to cider.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

