Nempnett Piglets Choice Perry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Nempnett
Perry Name: Piglets Choice
Region: Somerset
ABV: 7%
Taste: Medium
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Pears/Floral
Colour: Dull straw/Yellow
Clarity: Lightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Somerset Cheese & Cider Fayre, Ring O Bells, Compton Martin
Date: 07/05/13

I’ve had a brilliant bank holiday weekend full of cider, cheese and lots more cider on top of that too. Oh and of course some perry as well. I’ve been like a kid in a sweet shop to be honest and have nicely restocked my cider shelves. They are brimming with lots of Somerset based goods and it’s one of those I shall be trying tonight. Up first tonight is the Piglets Choice Perry from Nempnett.

Last year was my first chance to try a Nempnett cider while I was at the Reading Beer/Cider festival and to be honest the experience was a little mixed. Though I’ve been assured by the guys since that it could possibly have been an issue with what the supplier to the festival had done with the cider prior to it going there. That’s easily what could happen if you have things sold by a middleman and not straight from the guys themselves. The slate has been wiped clean and I will be going in to this one with a clear mind.

Nempnett are named after the village of Nempnett Thrubwell, which is near Blagdon in Bristol. This makes this actually a very local cider to me compared to some which are in the deepest darkest parts of Somerset. Other than that I don’t actually have a huge amount of information about the guys behind it. If I had a little more time on the day I’d have loved to found out a bit more about what is going on with them. What’s prominent on their labels is the funky cartoon based pig that makes up the piglets choice. If it’s good enough for the piglet then it is no doubt good enough for me. Lets go see if drinking this tipple makes me feel like a pig in sh*t!

This poured a lightly cloudy straw/yellow colour and has a wonderful floral pear aroma about it. For a perry, I actually do love the smell about this. It doesn’t really have any farmyard notes to it, but it does smell delicate and fragrant. I take in my first sip and damn this is a good one. That first taste is light, delicate and then actually fairly ballsy for a perry. It’s got that gorgeous tart feel to it and your tongue just tingles and tangles for a good while after. There are good hints of citrus about this, lightly wine like and has a lovely drier finish. This is an easy drinking perry, exciting and has a beautiful full flavour. I’ll certainly be going back for more of this very soon. Thankfully I have a 2.5 litre flagon, which hopefully should last me the night!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    I wish I could get a flaggon of cider.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

