Harry’s Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Harry’s Cider
Cider Name: Dry
Region: Somerset
ABV: ??% (Possibly 6 or 6.5%)
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Apples
Colour: Dull yellow
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Somerset Cheese & Cider Fayre, Ring O Bells, Compton Martin
Date: 08/05/13

Wednesday has come around quick again (thanks to the bank holiday!) and up tonight is the local pub quiz. Prior to that I’ll have to have some more cider, as it has just been gazing at me all day. It really can be tough to work from home with all this temptation in front of me! Thankfully work has finished and I can give in to it all now. I’ve resorted to the close my eyes and pick a random one technique and up first tonight is the Harry’s Dry Cider.

Harry’s Cider was a new Somerset producer I discovered last Sunday at the Somerset Cheese & Cider Fayre. They’re based down near Langport, have been producing cider since 2005 and are trying to produce an easy drinking soft cider that is enjoyed by different age groups of people. All is 100% farm pressed and no artificial sweeteners or preservatives are used. Yet again they are a proper cider producer who likes to do things the right way, which is just how I like it!

What can I tell you about this particular cider? Unfortunately not too much as I was in a bit of a rush at the time to ask too many questions, but I do remember it is dry, oak barrel matured and they use a variety of different apples to make the blend. The label on the flagon itself is very basic and doesn’t list much except their website, logo and contact details. There’s not even a ABV % listed, which is not the most helpful. Their website doesn’t list much more either, but other websites suggest it is probably 6 or 6.5% ABV. On with the drinking it is then…

This poured a dull yellow colour with a beautiful zesty apple aroma. I take in my first sip and it’s smooth, tangy/sharp/citric, has mild tannins and then a gorgeous faint oak aftertaste. This is one of those balanced, easy drinking ciders that certainly could appeal to many people, however I wouldn’t consider it feels like a dry cider. This feels more of a medium/dry in my opinion. I really do like this one, though for me personally the excitement factor is not 100% there. That’s not knocking it as a cider but more about personal taste. I’d happily have another though that’s for sure!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

