Nook’s Yard Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Nook’s Yard
Cider Name: Dry
Region: Cheshire
ABV: 6%
Taste: Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Rustic apples
Colour: Dull orange/Yellow
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

From: Nook’s Yard
Date: 14/05/13

Having had a decent experience with the Handmade Cider Company White Label Cider just now, I’m now going for something completely new to me altogether next. This only came through the post this morning and I can’t wait any longer to try it, as I’ve heard great things about it previously. Up now is the Dry Cider from Nook’s Yard.

I’ve mainly heard about these guys from their postings on Twitter more than anything else. Actually come to think about it, that is probably the best resource I use for keeping up-to-date with the cider world. That’s the power of the world we live in now with social media. They run a great blog about cider with some informative and thought-provoking discussion on the subject and also I’ve heard they make a great cider too from word-of-mouth. Now it’s time to put this to the test!

Nook’s Yard is run by Matthew Veasey up in Little Leigh, Cheshire. Cheshire is not usually renowned for their cider, but surprisingly there are 4 producers up there now according to the UKCider Website. It’s lovely to hear of cider being made the length and breadth of the country. The world domination will happen soon I hope 😉 Nook’s Yard make a 100% full juice cider, with the culinary apples being sought locally, which is then added with traditional cider apples (such as Dabinett) from Herefordshire. It sounds like an interesting mix to be honest and a great way to use up locally unused apples. I’m never convinced on a purely culinary apple cider, so they have made a good choice in the mix of local and traditional cider apples. All in all, their cider is made honestly and traditionally, which is just the way I love it. I hate it when producers mess with their cider too much from its natural state.

This particular cider comes in a 500ml bottle and was actually only bottled last week (07/05/13). Blimey that’s fresh out of the barrel still in my eyes! The labelling is simple, honest and informative. The only thing missing is listing the apples they have used, which is more of a personal preference than something that is required. Apart from the apples, the only other thing it contains is sulphites and also may contain natural sediment. From having a look in the bottle it appears sediment is fairly minimal, though it is cloudy already.

I poured out the cider and it was dull orange colour, with a hint of yellow and has got a wonderful rustic apple aroma. There also feels like there’s maybe a hint of toffee too, though that’s very faint. As expected, it’s also beautifully still and doesn’t have a bubble in sight.

Finally, I take in my first sip and wow what a taste! There’s a lot of dryness in this one, sharp and has a zesty citrus feel to it. Amongst all of this, the acidity has given it a tasty, tangy sensation, has moderate tannins too and a lovely dry lingering taste. There feels like there is a lot going on there and fairly complex. My only criticism is the texture is lightly watery and it could be a little too sharp/dry for some people. I personally enjoyed it and this certainly has a good mix of eastern & western cider about this. Good job Matt, I’ll certainly be back for more in the future.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Disclaimer: This was a free sample from Nook’s Yard, however this had no bearing on my review of this cider.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Matthew said,

    Thanks for the review Nick – glad you liked it.

    Afraid the Somerset boy in me comes through! I like more tannic ciders and I did make the decision to give it a bit more of a sightly sharper edge this year – but you’ll agree, that’s a relative term. It’ll mellow in the bottle over time though.

    It’s worth mentioning I sent you the Dry because I thought you’d appreciate the nuts & bolts version. For those who don’t like as much sharpness and like the tannins hidden, there’s always our Medium…

    Interesting you’ve picked up on the slight wateryness too. There’s no water added, but I thought it had a thinness to it this year as well. If nothing else, it now means I know your reviews of other ciders will match how I taste them!

    • 2

      TheCiderBlog said,

      I’m a bit late getting back to you on this, but thanks for the reply. I agree with everything you’re saying and when I said watery then thinness is essentially what I meant. My choice of words is not always the best, but then again it’s just trying to get my opinion across in some shape or form and thankfully you can see what I mean. It’s good to hear our tastes are fairly well aligned and I look forward to trying more of your cider in the future. If your cider will be at Manchester cider festival next month then I’ll certainly look out for it 🙂

      • 3

        Matthew said,

        I’m entering the North of England & Celtic cider/perry competition being held at Manchester Cider/Perry fest with the Medium and our Perry…

        I think the plan is for there to be a box of the Medium and maybe the Dry (tbc). Eitherway, I’ll be going at some point, so we should arrange to meet up.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

