Ross-On-Wye Beauty of Bath (SV) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Ross-On-Wye
Cider Name: Beauty of Bath (SV)
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 4.5%
Taste: Medium
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apples/Wine like
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 19/05/13

I’m onto my 2nd cider of the afternoon/evening and the football isn’t going that well. Hopefully by the end of this review it’s a bit more positive than it is at present. As mentioned in my Kingston Black (SV) cider review, I am trying out 3 new SV ciders from Ross-On-Wye and the 2nd of the evening will be the Beauty of Bath.

The Beauty of Bath apple is a dessert apple, which has been around since the Victorian times. It was first propagated in Bath in 1864 by George Cooling. This is an apple that falls early in the season (August/September) and is a sharp apple variety. Going by all of this, I’m not sure it will work well as a SV cider, though I’d be gladly surprised if it does. I can’t say I’ve yet to find a dessert apple SV cider that has wowed me. Anyway, it’s time to crack this open and see what joys this may brings….

This poured a golden colour, has a fresh apple/wine like aroma and of course is still. My first sip is of a sweet, juicy and green apple taste, which turns to sharpness/citric/tangy sensation, moderate acidity, minimal tannins and a lightly drying finish. This has plenty of wine like properties to it and definitely feels like something that could entice a wine drinker. Although it is a well made cider, for me personally it isn’t quite my thing, though I could see this working well in a blend to give it quite a nice edge to it.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

