Ross-On-Wye Kingston Black (SV) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Ross-On-Wye
Cider Name: Kingston Black (SV)
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 7%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apples/Oak
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 19/05/13

I’ve had a bit of a mad couple of days, so it’s about time I had a day in and enjoy a good few ciders from the peace of my own home. Well, it’s the last day of the premier league football season and hopefully Spurs can get in the top 4, but it’s not looking likely at present! Fingers crossed that changes! My ciders of choices today is a trio from Ross-On-Wye and all of the single variety kind. Up first is the Kingston Black (SV) cider.

Ross-On-Wye are up there with my favourite Herefordshire producers and consistently make a quality cider. Recently I’ve noticed they have hugely expanded their range of SV ciders and give a great deal of information about the apple that is used. That’s the kind of labelling I love to see on a bottle. It’s educational and helps me expand my cider knowledge! They note it is a bittersharp apple, has balanced tannins and acidity and produces a full bodied cider. It also has a SG of 1006, which should make it around a Medium/Dry I expect. It’s time to tuck into this and see how it is…

This poured perfectly still, golden/amber in colour and has a gorgeous apple aroma, with a hint of oak too. This smells distinctively like a Kingston Black that I know and love. I take in my first sip and wow is all I can say about the taste of this. It’s smooth, juicy and then there is a gorgeous tannin sensation coming through with moderate acidity and sharpness. The aftertaste is long lingering and sexy, with a good oak finish. It’s one of these ciders that isn’t too harsh in any shape or form, but has such rich and bold flavours coming through. This has to be up there with my favourite Kingston Black (SV) ciders out there. Wow what a taste. I will certainly be back for more in the future!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

