Ross-On-Wye Major (SV) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Ross-On-Wye
Cider Name: Major (SV)
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apples/Lightly rustic
Colour: Dull yellow/Golden
Clarity: Lightly cloudy
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 19/05/13

As I thought might be the case, the football didn’t end how I wanted it to and I need to have a few ciders to drown my sorrows. I have a few favourites in the fridge to try later, but now it’s time to finish off the trio of Ross-On-Wye single variety (SV) ciders I intended to do at the start of the day. Up last is the Major (SV) cider.

After the mixed experience of the Beauty of Bath and the awesome sensations of the Kingston Black, I am hoping the Major (SV) cider ends this trio of tastings on a high note. This is noted as a vintage bittersweet cider apple, has soft astringent tannins and is sweet and full bodied. The SG of this cider comes in at 1002, which technically makes it a dry cider due to the lack of sugar still in the cider. I can’t say I’ve ever tried this in a SV cider before, but I’m intrigued by it. It sounds like it should tick all of the boxes for me. It’s now cider drinking time to find this out….

I opened this up and to my surprise it had quite a high level of natural sparkle. This is more of just an initial burst really as it was tamed to near stillness in no time at all. Whilst in the bottle it was clear, once poured it had turned lightly cloudy through the sediment in the bottom of the bottle. I finally take in the aroma and it smells of apples, lightly rustic and a little dry too. I can’t say it’s the best of aromas, but it’s decent enough. My first sip is lightly sweet, has very little acidity and then the high tannins and dryness take over big time. It’s possibly a little too dry for me and lacking the acidity that I love in a good cider. Yet again I can see this working well in a blend, but for me it just doesn’t have enough about it to make it a SV cider. If you like your ciders on the drier side then this could just about work for you.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly
Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

