Guillet Cidre Breton Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Guillet
Cider Name: Cidre Breton
Region: Brittany, France
ABV: 5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: 1 litre bottle at room temperature
Smell: Fresh apples/Oak/Musky
Colour: Dull orange/Yellow
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Oddbins, Bristol
Date: 20/05/13

After a lovely day in yesterday sampling the 3 new Ross-On-Wye ciders, today I unfortunately had to go back to work to the world of the living. That wasn’t the worst thing in the world and now I’m about to have a BBQ and crack open another new cider. This time it is the Cidre Breton from Guillet.

This cider was bought a few weeks back when I was out to get some cider at Oddbins. I got a good few Perry’s ciders for the day and then noticed this whole new cider. This was the Cidre Breton and I snapped it up immediately to have at a later date. That date is today!

It is produced by a company called Guillet, who are based in Brittany, France. Cidre Breton literally translates to Brittany Cider, so it is what it says on the tin. I’m quite surprised at how the continental ciders are all in oversized bottles! I could certainly get used to this. The cider itself is fairly cloudy and has an image of Breton peasants on the front sampling the cider, whilst sat on the barrels. See, even the poor should be entitled to the wonderful joys of cider. Other than the image, the details are all just marketing stuff really. It uses ripened cider apples to produce an outstanding, full bodied, natural cider. Hopefully when they say natural they actually mean it! It’s time to open it up and find out…

The first thing I noticed upon pouring it was the huge fizz in the glass. This seemed to settle down fairly well, but there is a noticeable amount of bubbles in the glass. It is a cloudy cider, dull orange/yellow in colour and has a musky fresh apple aroma, with a hint of oak. It actually has a decent smell to it, even for a French cider. My first taste was a tasty, sweet apple flavour, moderately acidic, decent level of tannins, lightly sharp/citric and a mild lingering oak finish. I’m undecided whether the carbonation is a help or a hindrance with this. I’m leaning towards it is getting in the way of a good cider. This is just so easy to drink and does have a great mix of tannins, acidity and a dry, oaky finish. It’s not the best cider I’ve ever had, but it’s certainly up there with the best French ciders I’ve tried before. My only criticism of this is it feels a little thin and does not have a hugely lingering taste. I wouldn’t hesitate to have another in the future though.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

