Tutts Clump Traditional Farmhouse Perry (Medium/Dry) Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Tutts Clump
Perry Name: Traditional Farmhouse Perry (Medium/Dry)
Region: Berkshire
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Pear drops
Colour: Light straw
Clarity: Clear (with floating sediment)
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Shop
Date: 21/05/13

I had run my cider shelves dry of proper real cider/perry and a trip to the Bristol Cider Shop was needed to tide me over for a few days. My trips there are becoming increasingly more difficult to find something new and today was no different. After scrambling round the shelves they came up trumps again. 6 new ciders/perries were found and one of them is up today for a review. I closed my eyes and hoped for the best and up came the Tutts Clump Traditional Farmhouse Perry (Medium/Dry).

With this being a Berkshire based producer, it’s not often I come across their ciders anywhere near me, so I was extremely lucky I got one today. I’ve had 2 of their products previously and both were drinkable, though didn’t really inspire either. I’m hoping the Traditional Farmhouse Perry can change that.

Tutts Clump are unsurprisingly based in a small hamlet called Tutts Clump (Near Bradfield), West Berks and have been in the cider/perry making business since 2006. Most fruit is picked from West Berkshire, South Oxfordshire and North Hampshire (and recently from Somerset too). It’s all fruit that is unwanted and in effect being put to good use. From previous experiences, they are very much the Eastern style cider producer, which isn’t a bad style, but just isn’t a West Country style that I know and love. It would be interesting to see if there is an “Eastern style” perry too, as I can’t say I’ve really come across it yet. The labelling on the bottle is simple and standard really. It mentions the pears are mainly from West Berkshire, you need to avoid disturbing the natural sediment when pouring and that it contains sulphites. Other than that, there isn’t much more info to hand. I think it’s time to crack this open and see what joys it can bring…

I poured this out and boy they weren’t kidding when they said it had sediment in there. By the time it was out of the glass, it was like watching a perry version of a snow globe! There’s sediment flying about everywhere in there and has a light natural sparkle from the bottle conditioning. I take in the aroma of the drink and it was exactly like smelling inside a bag of pear drops that I had as a kid. With the snow globe and now the pear drops, it’s like stepping back 20 years into my childhood!

Finally I get around to taking my first sip and it tastes exactly like it smells like – Pear drops! You get that initial sweetness of the pears, which turns moderately tangy/acidic, lightly citric and then ends mildly drier than it started. I certainly wouldn’t say this is a medium/dry from how it tastes. It feels more like a medium to me. After the initial tanging sensation, it fades fairly quickly and doesn’t give me the wow factor I was hoping for. If you like a little zing and sweetness in your perry, then this could be right up your street, but it falls short for me I’m afraid.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly
Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

