Perry’s Morgan Sweet (SV) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Perry’s
Cider Name: Morgan Sweet (SV)
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Sweet apples
Colour: Golden/Yellow
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Perry’s
Date: 27/05/13

I’ve just come back from a lovely 4 day camping weekend in Eype, Dorset and of course whilst on my travels I picked up some new ciders. On my journey down I stopped off at Perry’s (amongst others) and saw a few new ciders in the shop. There was only one thing I could do in that situation and that was buy it there and then! Up first is the Morgan Sweet single variety (SV) cider.

After having so many of their ciders previously, it was nice to get down to see Perry’s in person. They are probably one of my more favourite readily available ciders and generally make a good cider. The Somerset Redstreak (SV) cider I had previously was absolutely lovely! So, what do I know about the Morgan Sweet apple? Not a lot to be honest. I know it’s a sweet cider apple and is local to Somerset. Other than that, I’m all out! From having a look at Google it suggests it’s a low acid and low tannin apple and one that is more likely to be added to a blend, than be an SV cider in its own right. Hopefully this cider can prove that wrong and can produce the goods. There’s only 1 way to find out and that’s to give it a go….

This poured a golden/yellow and has a very light sweet appley aroma. I can’t say it is the most appetising smell, but it’s not the worst one either. I take in my first sip and you get a lot of sweetness up front, juicy and is just a smooth and easy-going cider. The problem for me with this is it doesn’t have a lot to try and excite you. There’s very little acidity and tannins to note and just has a simple apple taste, which finishes with a lightly drier feel. I’d certainly recommend this for anyone who wants a gentle introduction into cider, though for any seasoned cider drinker I’d imagine this would be a bit too tame for you. I can’t say I would be rushing back for another.

Would I buy this again?: Unlikely
Overall Rating: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

