Perry’s Single Orchard Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Perry’s
Cider Name: Single Orchard Cider
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 750ml bottle
Smell: Apples/Light oak
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Perry’s
Date: 27/05/13

After a quite mediocre cider, with the Morgan Sweet (SV) cider, I am now trying to lift my cider tasting mood and give Perry’s a chance to redeem themselves tonight. Therefore up next is the Single Orchard Cider.

The name of the cider does exactly what it says on the tin; This is a cider from a single orchard, which in this case is the Knowle St Giles orchard in South Somerset. According to the bottle it is a blend of the Redstreak and Dabinett apples, which sounds a corker of a combination to be honest. Both are great ciders in their own right, so hopefully the combo should come out trumps! Other than that, the details are very sparse, though thankfully it mentions it is a still cider! I’ll now open up this cider and see if it can put a huge smile on my face…

It poured a bright golden/amber colour, has a rich apple aroma, with a hint of oak in there too. It’s certainly off to a great start so far! My first sip is of a gorgeous juicy apple flavour, which is then taken over by moderate acidity and soft tannins. This then has a lovely drying finish and a very slight feel of oakiness in the aftertaste. The pluses for me is it’s tasty and it would be very easy to slip down a pint of 2. What lets it down in places for me is that it could have that bit more bite about it and less light in taste. That doesn’t make it a bad cider, as I think it’s a decent one, but it’s where it is slightly lacking for me. Overall I’d happily have a few of these if I get the chance in the future. It could also work well as a dinner table cider too.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

