Parsons Choice Sweet Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Parsons Choice
Cider Name: Sweet
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6.5% (?)
Taste: Medium
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Rustic apples
Colour: Dull yellow/Golden
Clarity: Slightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Parsons Choice
Date: 28/05/13

Up today is another one of the ciders I recently got whilst on route down to my camping at the weekend. This cider is the sweet version of the ever popular Parsons Choice cider.

This is another one of the cider producers I’ve drank plenty of their cider previously, but have never actually been down to visit them. This was finally achieved last Friday and I happened to meet Jeanette (I think that was her name) and she gladly let me taste the tipples they had on offer. I got both their dry and sweet ciders and was a really happy chappy!

They are based on Parsonage Farm and have been making cider since 1988. Blimey, that is a long time……that’s nearly as old as I am! It’s a proper old-school cider farm and makes cider the proper and traditional way. There’s no messing about and what you see is what you get.

From my knowledge this sweet cider should be very similar to the dry, with the exception it has just been lightly sweetened to get the sweeter taste. I believe the ABV should be around the 6.5% mark, though as with any ciders straight from the farm it can be more of a guestimate. Right, it’s cider drinking time now!

This poured a lot clearer than I thought it would, but there is still a slight cloudy element to it. It’s dull yellow/golden in colour and has a rich, rustic apple aroma in the air. It smells how farmhouse cider should! I take in my first sip and wow what a lovely flavour. Though it’s labelled as a sweet, I’d personally class it as more of a medium myself (or maybe even medium/dry!). The first taste is actually fairly smooth, has a gorgeous apple taste and then the sharp/citric flavours come through with a balanced mix of tannins and acidity. This is one of those ciders that’s really lovely to drink and makes you think a bit. This is certainly a lot smoother and easier to drink than last years batch and is very tasty indeed! It’s not overpowering and at the same time very moreish. It’s a good job I have a couple of litres of this!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

