Thatchers Old Rascal Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Thatchers
Cider Name: Old Rascal
Region: Somerset
ABV: 4.5%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Apples/Similar to Strongbow
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Unknown (probably a supermarket)
Date: 29/05/13

As mentioned in my previous review of the Green Goblin, my cider choices at present are very limited and beggars can’t be choosers as they say. I’m staying on the Thatchers theme again tonight and up next is the Old Rascal.

The Old Rascal is named after a wily old fox who used to creep out of his den and steal some cider supplies. I can’t say I blame the guy really, as free cider can be the best form of cider! It’s another bit of creativeness from the Thatchers marketing department and thus another cider was born. This is labelled as a full bodied medium/dry cider and comes in at a low 4.5% ABV. That’s far too low for a cider in my opinion, unless you are keeving a cider or something similar. It doesn’t fill me with much confidence really, but it’s time to open it up and see what it has to offer…

It poured a bright golden colour, has an aroma similar to Strongbow (lightly apples and artificial) and is lightly sparkling. It’s another one of these ciders that the smell just gives me memories of a bad cider. I will plough through all that again though and hope it’s better than the Green Goblin, though I don’t really have much faith it will! I finally take the plunge and have a sip and it’s exactly how I thought it would be – Not very good! It has a light eating apple type taste, fairly sweet, artificial, mild acidity and then just nothing. Any taste you got has vanished in the blink of an eye. It’s of similar sweetness to a Thatchers Gold, but has even less about it than that does, which is quite surprising! Sure it’s easy to drink, but it just isn’t a pleasure to drink. I can’t really name one thing this cider did well. I’m thoroughly disappointed and won’t be going back to this sham of a cider again!

Would I buy this again?: No
Overall Rating: 4.5/10

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    OLiver said,

    Will disagree there we with, and i think it is a very good cider with a lovely legend and logos:)

  2. 2

    Oliver said,

    I have to agree with my name sake, I think this is a lovely drop. sometimes you don’t need 6%+ cider. Very refreshing drop in the summer.

  3. 3

    Cecil said,

    Yep this is one of my favourites and I hate Strongbow! Found it really easy to drink.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

