Savanna Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Savanna
Cider Name: Dry
Region: South Africa
ABV: 5.5%
Taste: Medium
Served: Lightly chilled 330ml bottle
Smell: Dessert or cooking apples/Chemicals
Colour: Golden/Yellow
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Sainsburys
Date: 01/06/2013

June is finally upon us, the sun is shining and I’m out in the garden having a cider. This is probably the last new cider I have left on the shelf and I really cannot remember whether it was a good one or not. As it’s a decent day and it hails from South Africa, then it’s the perfect time to do my review.

Savanna is probably about the only cider I’ve known to have come out of Africa and is massively available in all supermarkets. That’s probably one of the reasons I’ve been put off drinking this until now. I did have this a long time ago when I visited the Walkabout bar, but it was during the times where I just drank alcohol and was not really appreciating it. Today I’ll really find out what it is all about.

One thing I have to applaud them for to start with is the fact they have a proper ingredients list on the bottle. It doesn’t make for the best reading to be honest, but at least you know what you are buying, which is more that can be said for most big producers! It contains apple cider, glucose syrup, apple juice concentrate, flavourings, carbon dioxide, citric acid, E150c colouring & sulphur dioxide. As you can tell from the list it isn’t a proper true real cider, though I won’t let that put me off reviewing it. I’ll judge it on its own merit. It’s now cider drinking time people….

This poured a bright, clear, golden/yellow colour with a huge white foamy head, which took a while to settle down. Surprisingly it is only a lightly sparkling cider once it settled. The aroma is of dessert/cooking apples and it has that chemically type smell to it too. The initial taste is definitely along the cooking/dessert apple variety and some acidity/tang. This really doesn’t have a lot about it if I’m honest and it’s definitely not a dry cider. This would be a medium at best. I would liken this more to a tangy apple juice than a cider. Sure it’s easy and pleasant to drink, but it just doesn’t excite me and doesn’t have the qualities in a cider that I know and love. I’d rather have a proper apple juice than some cider that is having an identity crisis. I can’t say I will be going back for another anytime soon.

Would I buy this again?: No
Overall Rating: 4.5/10

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Johnny Cider said,

    This ‘Cider’ is fantastic!
    So it’s not a proper bits and pieces brew but if you want a session cider that’s refreshing and so easy to drink its almost second nature then buy this stuff, chill it to around 3-4.c, get out in the sun and relax! Tesco’s at the minute 3 for a Fiver, can’t go wrong!

    • 2

      TheCiderBlog said,

      Different strokes for different folks as they say. If you like it then keep having it and enjoying it. It just didn’t do anything for me and there’s plenty more out there I’d prefer 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

