Thatchers Mixed Fruit Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Thatchers
Cider Name: Mixed Fruit Cider
Region: Somerset
ABV: 4%
Taste: Sweet
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Fruity
Colour: Purple
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

From: Colston Arms, Bristol
Date: 02/06/13

I go down my local pub prior to visiting The Green Man Cider & Sausage festival and they tell me they have a new cider they want me to try out. Being the good man that I am I oblige and then they present me with the Thatchers Mixed Fruit Cider. Hmm, that wasn’t exactly what I was hoping for, but in the name of research I’ll have to give this a go and see what it’s like.

First things first is I wouldn’t personally call this a cider. Cider for me is made from apples and just apples. This is clearly not and I’d more liken it to an alcopop, though by the letters of the law this is a made wine. I personally cannot see the fascination with ‘fruit cider’, though it seems to sell for some reason or another.

So what do I know about this ‘cider’? Not much more than what’s on the bottle really. It’s made by Thatchers and apparently it mixes their cider with blackcurrants, raspberries, blackberries and strawberries. That doesn’t sound the most appealing to me. I had a similar ‘cider’ from Gwynt y Ddraig earlier this year and it was the worst one I have had since Aug 2012. With all that in mind, it doesn’t give me great confidence about this one either. Right, here goes, it’s time to torture myself with this ‘cider’….

It poured sparkling, clear purple and smelt very fruity. I couldn’t really distinguish any form of apples in the smell and was overpowered by the berries.

I take in my first sip and it tastes like a fizzy vimto. I can’t taste any apples in particular or any alcohol come to think of it. This is not a cider, doesn’t taste like a cider and will never be a cider. I can see just having a shot of vodka with vimto would have the same affect. It’s a pleasant fruity drink for a summers day, but I’d never have it by choice. I prefer a proper real cider.

Would I buy this again?: No
Overall Rating: 3/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Jake said,

    agreed it’s not a ‘true’ cider but on a summers day it’s fantastically refreshing and alcoholic to boot 9/10 for me


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

