Nempnett Somerset Redstreak (SV) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Nempnett
Cider Name: Somerset Redstreak
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Half pint at room temperature
Smell: Dry rustic apples
Colour: Dull orange
Clarity: Cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: The Green Man, Bristol
Date: 02/06/13

This is my 2nd drink at The Green Man Cider & Sausage Festival and I’m really enjoying myself. I’m finding myself already limited to the new ciders available to me, but have no fear I’ve found another new one and up next is the Nempnett Somerset Redstreak Single Variety (SV) Cider.

Nempnett are a cider producer who I have really started to discover in the last year. Last year didn’t get off to the greatest of starts with their Piglets Choice cider, though I later found out that’s likely to be due to a dodgy batch. This year I’ve tried their perry and oak matured cider and both were really decent tipples. Todays cider of choice is the Somerset Redstreak cider, which as you can tell from the name is an SV cider.

Redstreak is a traditional bittersweet cider apple variety and I’ve found Redstreak SV ciders to in general to be of a decent quality. Both the Wilcox and Perry’s versions I have tasted in the last year have been awesome and I have high hopes this can continue this (red)streak! Lets taste this bad boy and see what it has to offer…

This poured a cloudy, dull orange colour and has a dry and rustic aroma. I actually like the smell of this. My first sip was fairly smooth, then a drying taste takes over, light sourness/bitterness and then just mellow in aftertaste. It’s one of these ciders I like but not necessarily sure why. It’s not one I’d pick over their other ciders I had this year but a nice alternative. It’s just lacking a bit of va va voom about it.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

