Thatchers Rose Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Thatchers
Cider Name: Rose
Region: Somerset
ABV: 5.4%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Dessert apples/Wine like
Colour: Red/Rose
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Sainsburys
Date: 04/06/13

I’m now onto my 2nd cider of the evening and yet again this is a supermarket available cider, which this time is from Thatchers. The contender up next to try and excite my tastebuds is the Rose Cider.

Once upon a time I believe this was called Katy Rose and was made from the Katy apple. Now they have ditched the Katy part of the name and is just called Rose. I’m not sure if that’s because it is not just the Katy apple now or just a marketing rebrand. Either way, this is a very red/rose looking cider and well, it just doesn’t look like a cider. Where has the red colour come from? Artificial colourings?

This is labelled as “Refreshingly light and fruity, this medium Rose cider has been blended and blushed from the rosiest apples at the Thatchers family farm”. Yet another a fairly ambiguous sounding description and seems fairly generic really. After reading so many cider descriptions from the big producers lately, I think I could write their descriptions for them. They all sound virtually the same! I’m not going to blab on about the same stuff as I did with the last Thatchers. It’s straight in at the deep end now and give this cider a whirl!

It poured a bright, clear, red/rose colour and has the aroma of dessert apples. It smells fairly similar to the Katy cider I had yesterday. I take my first sip and it’s sweet, fruity, lightly tangy and then a minor dry aftertaste. It tastes far too sweet for my liking and a tamed down version of the Katy, which is quite surprising as that felt tame itself! If I had to match it to anything, then it’s a cross between the Katy and Old Rascal, although it is more Old Rascal than Katy. Tannins are non-existent with the cider and it just doesn’t taste that great and have any distinctive features. It’s a simple and easy drinking sweet cider to get someone into the cider drinking, but could never be something you stick to. It just doesn’t have enough about it for me to want to go back to it again.

Would I buy this again?: No
Overall Rating: 5/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] Thatchers Rose Cider Review […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

