ApfelweinKontor WeinAusApfeln Streuobst Apfelwein 2012 Trocken Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: ApfelweinKontor (with the help of Kelterei Rothenbucher)
Cider Name: WeinAusApfeln Streuobst Apfelwein 2012 Trocken
Region: Bavaria, Germany
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: 750ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Apples/Wine like
Colour: Light straw/Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: ApfelweinKontor, Frankfurt, Germany
Date: 12/06/13

This is now day 3 of the German apfelwein reviews and I’m going back to a cider I purchased from the cider shop ApfelweinKontor. This is one they helped produce themselves and is called WeinAusApfeln Streuobst Apfelwein 2012 Trocken.

The name of this cider literally means an apfelwein from a 2012 harvest and should be of the dry variety. Reading these bottles has actually let me understand German a bit better and maybe when I go back I’ll speak more the than few obligatory words! This cider in particular is a collaboration between themselves and the cider producers Rothenbucher. Having enjoyed the Freyeisen apfelwein a couple of days ago, I’m hoping this can be of at least the same quality, if not better. Another thing to note is this won a Pomme d´Or 2013 award for the cider. Therefore we have a prize winner in this apfelwein!

I have to admit the first reason I got this bottle was that I was told it was a still apfelwein. If you’re a regular reader, then you’ll know I prefer my ciders on the still side. This one thankfully ticks that box. The description on the bottle mentions the apples are picked when they are fully ripe, then pressed and finally allowed to ferment in stainless steel tanks. The smell of the cider should be fruity, spicy and have a nice acidic taste. Also, it mentions it is ideal to be served with chicken, at a picnic or on its own. There’s also readings for acidity (5.8g/l), residual sugar (6.8g/l) & that it contains sulphites. Hopefully that should be a rough translation of it if my Google skills are decent! All in all it is professionally presented and looks like it should have its place on the dinner table. Unfortunately I’ve already eaten tonight, therefore I shall just drink it on its own right now.

This poured a light straw colour, which is bordering on golden, and has the aroma of fresh apples mixed with wine. This certainly smells more like a wine than a traditional cider. As it’s an apfelwein, then that certainly can happen a lot. The clue is in the name after all. I take in my first taste and wow that certainly hits you! You get an acidic apple taste right from the off and it feels like it’s fizzing away on your tongue for a fairly long time, with a good touch of sourness to it too. It’s fruity, crisp, lightly dry to begin with and ends much drier and lightly bitter. If you took away the acidity in this, it could very well resemble a dry white wine. This apfelwein is definitely ballsy, very acidic, fairly rich in flavour and has a long lasting taste. Tannins again are virtually non-existent, though for me the acidity/sour tastes more than make up for that. I can’t say I’m normally a huge apfelwein fan traditionally, but it sure is growing on me!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I am learning a bit about German cider

  2. 2

    […] ApfelweinKontor WeinAusApfeln Streuobst Apfelwein 2012 Trocken Review […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

