Hunt’s Medium/Sweet Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Hunt’s
Cider Name: Medium/Sweet
Region: Devon
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Rustic apples
Colour: Golden/Yellow
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Hunt’s Cider Farm, Devon
Date: 17/06/13

I’ve just about recovered from a manic West Country Cider Tour and I’m now drinking more fruits of my labour of that tour. I had a cracking pint of Naish’s Dry Cider yesterday and up today is the Hunt’s Medium/Sweet cider.

This was picked up on the Sunday of the tour and we had a great look around their cider farm. There’s a traditional cider setup here and was certainly very impressive. Cider making has been in their family for many generations and Richard took up the reins for this in around 2005. Richard was most welcoming and let us sample the whole range on offer, which varied from the 2011 harvest to the current one. I opted to buy some of their current harvest and surprisingly I went for the Medium/Sweet.

The only difference between their dry and other ranges is the amount of sweetener added at the end. This is labelled as a 6% average alcohol and pours a lovely golden/yellow colour and has a beautiful farmhouse/rustic apple aroma. My first taste is lightly sweet, then a good drying sensation takes over, lightly citric/sharp/bitter and fair levels of tannins. The more I drink of this cider then the drier it appears to be. I can certainly feel the gum drying feeling after nearly a pint! There’s also a very nice fruity and somewhat zesty/lemon feel to the aftertaste of this cider, with mild hints of wood. It also does feel a lot drier than when I had it yesterday, though with any good real cider, the flavour can change depending on its environment. Maybe he poured a medium/dry instead of a medium/sweet? I can’t say I was paying too much attention at the pouring! It’s certainly a delightful drop and I’ll enjoy the 2 litres I bought!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

