Jorg Stier Emma Schoppe Apfelwein Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Jorg Stier
Cider Name: Emma Schoppe
Region: Frankfurt, Germany
ABV: 4%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: 1 litre bottle at room temperature
Smell: Dessert apples/Berries
Colour: Pink
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Jorg Stier, Frankfurt, Germany
Date: 20/06/13

My working week has now finished, which is due to myself attending the Greater Manchester Cider & Perry Festival tomorrow. To get me warmed up, and to continue on from the theme of yesterday, I’m now going to treat myself to an apfelwein. Up first this evening is the Emma Schoppe apfelwein from Jorg Stier.

As you may have guessed from previous apfelwein reviews, I did bring back a good few bottles from Jorg Stier. This particular one is named after Emma Schoppe, who is a character from a story that Jorg made. I can’t remember the exact details, but it was a fairytale type story of the love between Emma and Einhard and possibly with their love of apples too. Jorg loves to make a character and story about his apfelweins and fair play to him. He must be the first cider producer I found who even wrote the fairytale too and made audio copies! Now that’s hardcore!

One of the first things you notice about this apfelwein (besides the size of the bottle!) is it is a low 4% in ABV. From memory I believe this is also rose in colour and he wouldn’t say how it came to be that colour! I believe it must be some fruit mixed with it. I think it’s time to pour this out and see how it fares compared to his other apfelweins…

This poured lightly sparkling, pink in colour and has the aromas of dessert apples mixed with berries. It’s an interesting smell and certainly a lot more apples in the smell than berries. My first taste is of lightly sweet, tart, fresh green apples, a hint of berries and then the sourness kicks in with a little bit of sharpness, fair levels of acidity and some dryness in the tail. For an apfelwein that contains other fruit, it is actually very tasty and the berries have been added subtly and not overpowering. It’s softer and slightly less harsh than a lot of apfelweins I’ve had too. Yet again apfelwein can be an acquired taste, though I can see this one having a wider range of appeal than quite a few others. I’d happily have one of these again if I was on the lookout for an apfelwein with a twist.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

