Blaengawney Cider Blindfold Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Blaengawney Cider
Cider Name: Blindfold
Region: Caerphilly
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium
Served: Half-pint at room temperature
Smell: Dessert apples
Colour: Straw
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Greater Manchester Cider & Perry Festival
Date: 21/06/13

I’m at the Greater Manchester Cider & Perry Festival and I need something to quench my thirst. How shocking eh? I guess that is the point of going to these festivals after all. One that I’ve always seen but can never remember trying is the Blindfold from Blaengawney Farm.

Blaengawney Farm are a producer I’ve heard a lot about but rarely get the chance to try their cider. I’ve tried their Hallets cider before in their range but only had small samplers of the others at the International Craft Cider Festival a few years ago. The Hallets bottled cider I had last year was very decent and I’m actually happy I get to try another today! Blaengawney Farm are a fairly small producer from Caerphilly and have been making cider for around 8 years now I believe. The cider is of course made on Blaengawney Farm, which is obviously where they got their name from. They have won numerous awards in recent years, including the overall champion cider for their sweet cider, National Treasure at the Welsh Perry and Cider Championships in 2011.

This poured a medium taste, has a Straw colour and the aroma of Wine. It’s first taste was tart, lightly sour and the light sharpness. I can’t say the taste is long lasting or amazing, though it fills the gap. There’s no real tannins but I appreciated it. It’s just easy going and tasty.

Would I buy this again?: It’s decent but not amazing
Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

