Dove Syke Ribble Valley Gold Medium Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Dove Syke
Cider Name: Ribble Valley Gold Medium Dry
Region: Lancashire
ABV: 6.2%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Half-pint at room temperature
Smell: Sweet apples
Colour: Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Greater Manchester Cider & Perry Festival
Date: 21/06/13

I’m onto my 1st proper half-pint of cider of the day and I thought I’d start off somewhere local. What’s more local than a cider maker just down the road in Clitheroe, Lancashire. This producer is called Dove Syke and they make the Ribble Valley Gold Medium Dry Cider.

I have heard people mention of these guys on Twitter, but I can’t remember what was said, so I am going to have to Google them now! They appear to be set in the Ribble Valley (which explains the name!) and they are the first semi-commercial cider maker in Lancashire. The cider is made form naturally fermented juice and is fermented throughout the winter. Other than that, their website is pretty basic and they haven’t even filled out half the sections. It’s either a new website or they have got lazy! Right, as there’s such little information to go on, I better just dive into this one and see how it tastes!

This was crystal clear, deep amber in colour and has a very sweet apple aroma. My first taste was of sweet apples, crisp dryness and then like a mildly bitter apple juice. There’s very faint tannins, light sherbet feel and the taste goes far too quickly for my liking. It’s a very easy drinking cider but by no means a challenging one.

Would I buy this again?: Yes but not a first choice
Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

