Springherne Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Springherne
Cider Name: Dry
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 7%
Taste: Dry
Served: Half-pint at room temperature
Smell: Apples
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Bristol Cider Fest
Date: 22/06/13

After a disappointing Swallowfields cider, I thought I’d try another new Herefordshire producer to see if they can put that smile back on my face. Up next is the dry cider from Springherne.

This is a producer I can’t say I’ve heard of or know much about. They look to be based in Ross-On-Wye and even the powers of google can’t pull up anymore info. Being Herefordshire based I am hoping it of decent quality.

This poured golden in colour, appley aroma and pretty much clear. My first sip was farmhouse apple in taste, dry, tannic and a fairly light watery taste. Acidity is virtually non-existent and it can feel a bit too bitter. This cider is fine but just not exciting. A little too dull for my liking. If you like a dry cider it may appeal but is lacking flavour.

Would I buy this again?: No
Overall Rating: 6/10

Leave a Reply

