Jorg Stier Apfel Cidre Apfelwein Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Jorg Stier
Cider Name: Apfel Cidre
Region: Frankfurt, Germany
ABV: 4.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: 750ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Apples/Wine like
Colour: Straw
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Jorg Stier, Frankfurt, Germany
Date: 26/06/13

I’ve made it halfway through the week now and the weekend is feeling ever closer. Work surprisingly has been going well lately and it is nice to be in the office and not just working from home. To help me chillout prior to the quiz in a bit I shall be sampling my final bottle of apfelwein. Yes I know, it’s an emotional time and good things must come to an end eventually. My final apfelwein is the Apfel Cidre from Jorg Stier.

Jorg Stier, as many of the regular readers will know, is one of my favourite apfelwein producers in Germany. His apfelwein is certainly a lot more different to the regular ones you get in their pubs and he likes to experiment a bit. This apfelwein is based on a French cidre style, which means it should be a light drink, sweetish and a low ABV (4.5%). It’ll be interesting to see if it has that sour/tangy apfelwein twist on it or if he’s tried to replicate what they do. There’s only one way to find that out and that’s to drink it, which I shall do now.

This poured a bright straw colour, sparkling and smelt like a fine white wine mixed with apples. My initial taste was fruity, sour, acidic/tangy, hints of being a bit perfumey and also lightly like a white wine. There is a mild oaky feel in the aftertaste and a fair level of dryness too. One thing letting it down for me personally is the level of fizz to this – There’s just too much of it! I can’t say it’s necessarily like a cidre per se, but it is a light, fruity drink and slightly sweeter than some of their other apfelweins. It’s drinkable though and would certainly appeal to a wine drinker. There’s just something about it that just doesn’t quite do it perfectly for me.

Would I buy this again?: Yes, though not necessarily a first choice
Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

