Sheppy’s Oakwood Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Sheppy’s
Cider Name: Oakwood Cider
Region: Somerset
ABV: 4.8%
Taste: Medium
Served: Chilled pint
Smell: Sweet apples
Colour: Light straw
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Robin Hood, Bristol
Date: 29/06/13

I’m on the cider pub crawl in Bristol and the weather is scorching hot. I’m sat in the garden of the Robin Hood, on St. Michaels Hill, and I need a nice cool refreshing pint. Up steps the Sheppys Oakwood Cider to see if it was up to the job.

Sheppys are a big name local producer which I have great respect for. Though from memory they have never made a drop your jaw stunning cider. Their single variety cider have been tasty though. What I find odd is I rarely see them in pubs. I’ve seen plenty of bottles in supermarkets, though this is first time I’ve seen it on draught in a pub. I just had to have it once I saw it.

This is surprisingly a low ABV at only 4.8%. I don’t mind a low ABV cider, as it’s not just about the alcohol, it’s more of how they got it down to that from a usual 6-8%. Was it watered down? Heavily sweetened? Something else? There’s only one way to find out and that’s to give it a try…

It poured very fizzy, light straw colour and sweet apple aroma. I can’t believe how light it looks! The first taste was light, fruity, medium body and just very easy. It’s certainly a refreshing cider, though it does seen to lack a little depth. There is a light dry finish and some mild tannins, though just not enough of everything. I can happily drink it, but I wouldn’t pick it ahead of any of my favourites.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly if nothing better on
Overall Rating: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

