Rich’s Golden Years Yarlington (SV) (2011) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Rich’s
Cider Name: Golden Years Yarlington (SV) (2011)
Region: Somerset
ABV: 6%
Taste: Dry
Served: 500ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Rustic apples
Colour: Amber/Orange
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Rich’s Cider (at Bristol Cider Fest)
Date: 02/07/13

As you have probably noticed from my lacking of posting this weekend, it has been a manic one and things have only just calmed down enough now to review another cider. It involved a cider pub crawl on the Saturday to even help run a pub on the Sunday! After all of that, yesterday just had to be a day of rest. I’m now all recuperated and ready to jump back on that cider wagon! Up next is the last of the Rich’s cider, with their Years Yarlington (SV) (2011) now taking centre stage.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I really do like the Golden Years range from Rich’s. Some of their cider has just got a bit samey over time, but thankfully these ones are interesting and different. The Yarlington variety is the next one on the list and I’ve seen that successfully work as a SV cider with many producers over the past year. Oliver’s probably have made my favourite version of it thus far. Yarlington apples are traditionally one of the vintage cider apple varieties and are bittersweet. This should hopefully translate to a cider that is high in tannins and low in acidity. Though as I’ve experienced previously, this is not always the case. I better open up this bad boy and see what it has to offer…

This poured a relatively dark amber/orange colour, lightly sparkling and has a wonderful rustic apple feel to the aroma. It’s certainly a very sexy smell and makes me want to dive right in now! I take in my first sip and boy does this have flavour to it! It starts with a gorgeous apple taste, plenty of tannins and has a lovely drying finish. Acidity is virtually non-existent, there is moderate bitterness and it’s just one of those drinks that puts a smile on your face. For me personally I’d prefer there to be some acidity to the drink and a little less dry, but that’s more about personal preference more than anything. I wouldn’t say it’s my favourite Yarlington SV cider, though it sure is up there with the best of them.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] Rich’s Golden Years Yarlington (SV) (2011) Cider Review […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

