Norcotts Elderflower Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Norcotts
Cider Name: Elderflower Cider
Region: Devon
ABV: 4%
Taste: Sweet
Served: 500ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Elderflower/Light apples
Colour: Clear/Light green
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

From: The Stable, Bristol
Date: 11/07/13

I’ve managed to find a little bit of a quiet period this evening and when I have one of those I always love a good cider. Luckily for me I have a new cider to try today and this is the Elderflower Cider from Norcotts.

I know, I know, it’s technically not a proper real cider. Though when I’m struggling this badly to find a new cider, then I can’t be too picky. This was one from my other halfs goodie bag from the Monday evening at The Stable. It’s the first time I’ve managed to get hold of a Norcotts cider and I’m intrigued to see how this one turns out. Though I’d obviously had preferred to try their normal cider first, than a fruity one.

Norcotts (or Seasons as they were briefly known as) are based out in Devon and made by Chris Norcott. From a bit of Googling it looks like Chris worked for some of the larger cider producers (I believe Aston Manor & Gaymers) and is now taking a chance with his own cider business. Fair enough and fair play to him. Though hopefully he has learnt how not to do it from them 2!

The bottle has a fairly standard and simple design and is apparently made in Somerset and not Devon where he is based. Now would that be by another producer or himself? It doesn’t say on the bottle and their website doesn’t really show much at all. There is 5 in their cider/fruit cider range and each one is designed for a season. It doesn’t say which one Elderflower is for, but I can only assume Spring/Summer. It also mentions the words “Premium Recipe” on the bottle, which in past experience is usually what the big boys do and it ends up anything but premium! Anyway, enough of the rambling and more of the trying! I’ll have to open this up now and see how I get on…

It poured with a light sparkle in the glass, it has the lightest of green/clear colours and smelled very heavy of the elderflowers. Come to think of it, I am struggling to smell any apples really. If I try hard enough I can just about pick out a faint apple smell. All in all, it’s not the greatest of starts! I like my cider to be apple based, or at least be predominantly of apples, which this one clearly is not.

I take in my first sip and my fears have been confirmed. It tastes very sweet/sickly, very elderflower like and a little syrupy in texture. I just can’t feel the apples in this cider at all. I also can’t feel the excitement (there is a minor tangy feel to it) and to be honest I’m not a huge elderflower fan. This certainly feels more like an alcopop than a cider to me. If this is anything to go by, then I can’t say I will be going to try the other fruit ciders in the range anytime soon. Overall, I was hoping it might be a nice cider with a hint of elderflower, though it turned out to be a too sweet and sickly elderflower drink.

Would I buy this again?: No
Overall Rating: 2.5/10

Leave a Reply

