Cadogan Yarlington Mill (SV) Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Cadogan
Cider Name: Yarlington Mill (SV)
Region: Gloucestershire
ABV: 5.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: 500ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Rustic apples
Colour: Brown/Light hints of orange/red
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Essex Cider Shop
Date: 05/08/13

It’s been a long time and there has been no reviews here people. Sorry about that, I’ve just I’ve been busy with my daytime job and I have also had a lack of new ciders to review. Fear not though, my friend brought me back a nice selection from the Essex Cider Shop to sample and review. Up first is the Yarlington Mill Single Variety (SV) cider from Cadogan Cider.

With Cadogan being a local producer up in Gloucestershire, I’m actually surprised I’ve not gone for a trek up there to get cider right from the farm. It will have to be a producer I visit on my next cider trip on the way up north. I’m trying to find out a bit more about the guys behind the cider, but Google is not proving to be very helpful. From what I can tell from the bottle and Google, it is run by Nicola & Chris Cadogan on Northington Farm, Awre, Gloucestershire. They look to be the latest in the family to have taken on their family farm, after it was previously run by Chris’ dad (also called Chris!) and his dad before him too in the 1960’s. Whereas previously they looked to sell their fruit, now they are making use of it themselves to make their own cider & perry. Their cider is made from the mature trees on their farm, traditionally pressed and finally allowed to mature in oak casks. All in all, it sounds like they do things the proper way and I always love a cider with a light oak hint to it. Fingers crossed this one is up to a high standard.

This bottle poured lightly sparkling, a very dark shade of brown and actually was a lot darker than it seemed initially in the bottle. If you hold it up to the light you can see a hint of red/orange to the colour too. It reminds me of the colour of the Gwatkin Yarlington Mill. The aroma had the distinctive Yarlington Mill feel to it that I know and love and there’s a good rustic feel to it. I have to say it’s got off to a cracking start so far, though obviously would have preferred it to be still.

I take in my first taste and there feels like there’s a fairly good amount going on. It starts off with a medium bittersweet feel to it, moderately acidic and a good feel of tannins to it. The more I drink it, the more the acidity/sourness seems to come through. There’s also lots more dryness, mild bitter undertone and a beautiful tannic feel, with a light hint of oak in the aftertaste. It just seems to give you a lovely zingy feel on the tongue, which makes you take another sip and then another one after that. It’s definitely one of these moreish ciders that is hard to put down. I actually do think the carbonation in this has helped this cider out, which I don’t often say of a bottled cider! Overall it’s a good SV cider and well executed in my opinion. The slight sourness/acidity might not be to everyones taste, but it worked well for me. If the other ciders I’ve got to try this week are up to this standard, then I’ll be in for a treat over the next few days!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

