Jollydale Dry Still Cyder Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Jollydale
Cider Name: Dry Still Cyder
Region: Lincolnshire
ABV: 5.9%
Taste: Dry
Served: 500ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Apples/Dry/Light toffee
Colour: Golden/Amber
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Essex Cider Shop
Date: 06/08/13

I’m back on the cider review wagon and things are definitely getting in full swing now. Oh how I’ve missed this feeling. It’s like being a kid at Christmas and unwrapping all these presents. I just hope this present is one I want to keep and not some pair of socks from the grandparents! Up next on my haul from Essex Cider Shop is the Dry Still Cyder from Jollydale

Surprisingly I have heard of Jollydale before, but I just have never managed to try it until now. They are a Lincolnshire based cidermaker run by Simon Dale, who I assume must be a really happy chappy and how they came about their name! From a quick Google it appears they started in similar fashion to most new cidermakers. They had some local apples in 2002, started to make homemade cider and the rest is history as they say. Though now it appears they use bittersweet apples from Shropshire orchards, which are traditionally pressed, fermented and then is said to make a full bodied cider. Though don’t most producers say that?!? As they say, actions speak louder than words and therefore I need to crack this cider open and see what it has to offer…

This poured with a little natural fizz from the bottle and then settles to a complete standstill. Ah beautiful, just how I like it! It’s a shiny golden/amber colour, clear and has a dry apple aroma to it, though with a little hint of toffee too. It’s actually very pleasant to smell. I take in my first sip and you get a fairly smooth and lightly apple feel to begin with, though then the dryness and bitterness kicks in with abundance. You also get an alcohol feel to the taste, which is a little off-putting. Acidity wise I can’t really feel any in this at all. This is a shame as I do love a little bit of an acidic kick to my cider. It’s a bit of a strange one really, but definitely a bittersweet taste. It’s just a little too bitter for my usual tasting, though I can see why people like this one. It isn’t a bad cider by any stretch of the imagination, it’s just not necessarily to my preferred taste.

Would I buy this again?: Yes, though not as a first choice
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

