Cadogan Medium/Dry Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Cadogan
Cider Name: Medium/Dry
Region: Gloucestershire
ABV: 5.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: 500ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Apple pie
Colour: Amber/Orange
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Essex Cider Shop
Date: 07/08/13

The week has flown by already and I’m getting ever closer to turning 30 now. I’ve not quite got close to the 500 I wasn’t hoping for, but I’ve got a respectable way towards that so far. As you will have known from my previous reviews, Essex Cider Shop has saved the day for me recently with a few new ciders for me to try. Up next is another cider from Cadogan and this time it is their Medium/Dry variety.

As mentioned previously, Cadogan are a Gloucestershire based cidermaker and use mature orchard trees, which has never been sprayed. For me personally I’m not too fussed if a tree has been sprayed with pesticides, as long as the apples it produces are a good quality. I did actually enjoy their Yarlington Mill cider I had on Monday and if that is anything to go by, then I will be in for a treat with this one. It’s just a shame their website doesn’t work, as it would be great to find out more about them. From the little information I could find out about this particular cider, it seems to suggest that Dabinett apple are in the mix of the cider apples used. It’s come to that time again and I better shut up and start tasting this bad boy.

Like their Yarlington Mill, this began with a fair amount of carbonation upon opening, though it’s another one that’s very short lived. Sure, there’s the odd bubble in the bottle, but definitely not a stream of bubbles like your mass produced ones. It’s a bright amber/orange colour and has the aroma of apple pie. There’s definitely lots of sweet apples in the air and not dry smell that I was expecting. I took a quick first sip and it tasted like it smelt – apple pie! Though upon my slower 2nd sip I could feel a lot more to this cider. There’s a juicy apple start, moderate levels of acidity, tangy and decent levels of bitterness/tannins/dryness shining through in the tail. It’s fairly well balanced as a cider goes and very easy drinking. I think this one probably would taste better out of the barrel, as the carbonation doesn’t really help this cider at all. Also, although this says it is matured in oak barrels, I can not really feel much in the taste of this (very minor hint in aftertaste). Overall, this is a cider I like but not something I love. There’s just something lacking to make this a great cider. I’d be intrigued to see how this tastes from the barrel and if it’s the cider I think it could be.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

