Cadogan Medium/Sweet Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Cadogan
Cider Name: Medium/Sweet
Region: Gloucestershire
ABV: 5.5%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: 500ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Sweet apple pie
Colour: Amber/Orange
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Essex Cider Shop
Date: 14/08/13

I’m finally just about there now people. This is the last new cider I am likely to be trying whilst in my 20’s and therefore is a bit of an interesting occasion. It’s been an eventful year and one which I’ll certainly write up about in due course. This final cider will be the last one from my haul from the Essex Cider Shop and comes in the form of the Medium/Sweet Cider from Cadogan.

This is the 4th Cadogan cider I’ve had over the past week and probably the one I was least wanting to try. This is their Medium/Sweet cider and generally I prefer my ciders on the drier end of the cider spectrum. There obviously has been exceptions to that rule over time, but generally speaking that is the type of cider I go for. According to Google, this cider should be made with a combination of Yarlington Mill & Dabinett apples, which has made me feel a bit more confident about this cider. I do love both of them as a SV cider or in a blend. As with the other Cadogan ciders, this is from unsprayed orchards, traditionally pressed and then left to mature in oak casks. Right, It’s time to open this up and see how tasty (or not) it may be….

It poured with a fair amount of carbonation initially, which settled down to barely a bubble in the glass. There certainly is a few in there, but not too heavy as you get with some of the more mass produced ciders. The colour is a bright amber/gold and has that lovely aroma of a fresh, sweet, apple pie. It sure does smell good! I took in my initial sip and there is a fair level of sweetness, good apple pie feel to it and just sweet to begin with. As the taste develops, there is some dryness that comes through, good levels of tannins/acidity/tanginess and mild bitterness. Carbonation I don’t think helps this at all, though isn’t a major hindrance either (more of just a distraction). The aftertaste is of a decent length and you can feel some mild oaky hints in there too. It’s definitely not an overpowering feeling you get with some. I wouldn’t say this is an overly sweet cider by any stretch of the imagination, but it could be too sweet for some. I personally prefer their Medium/Dry version, though this isn’t that far behind. It’s certainly worth a try and if you can get it straight from the barrel you could well be on to a winner!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 7/5/10

Leave a Reply

