Ampleforth Abbey Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Ampleforth Abbey
Cider Name: Cider
Region: Yorkshire
ABV: 8.3%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Half pint at room temperature
Smell: Apples
Colour: Dull yellow
Clarity: Lightly cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: West Midlands Cider Festival, West Brom
Date: 07/09/13

After having a couple of regional drinks previously, I’ve now started to explore the national bar. I’m looking to try something different and random and there it was, the Ampleforth Abbey Cider.

Ampleforth Abbey Cider is made up in Yorkshire by the Benedictine monks of the abbey. It’s not often you get to try a cider that’s made by monks do you? Their cider is made by Fr Rainer onsite and done in the traditional way since 2001, which is exactly what I wanted to hear! From what I can gather, it’s not pasteurised and once made it is stored in plastic barrels. Though at 8.3% ABV, I have a feeling I won’t be drinking too many of these today! Their cider has been given a bronze medals in the past 2 International Cider Challenges and therefore should be a half decent cider I expect. I couldn’t find any information out about what apples they use, but if they are using local apples then it’s more likely to be cooking/eating apples. I’m intrigued by how this will taste and if it’s what I like, so it’s time to try it and see…

It’s a dull yellow cider and the first cloudy cider I have had today so far. It smells of apples and more specifically a green apple. My first taste is of eastern style cider and a high level of acidity. It’s certainly very tangy on the mouth and an acquired taste. Luckily it’s on my wavelength. Though I’d obviously prefer it if it had some tannins to it. It feels good for an eastern counties style, but could never replace a proper scrumpy.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

