Chapman’s Stinking Bishop (SV) Perry Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Chapman’s
Perry Name: Stinking Bishop (SV)
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 6.8%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Half pint at room temperature
Smell: Pears/Wine like
Colour: Light straw
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: West Midland Cider Festival, West Brom
Date: 07/09/13

Sticking on the local regional theme, my next drink is going to have to be a perry to mix things up a bit. I’m scanning through the list and then I notice another producer I’ve not come into contact with before. Up next is the Stinking Bishop Single Variety (SV) Perry.

Chapman’s cider are based up in Ledbury, Herefordshire, and therefore are right in the heart of cider country. Being based up there, I’m surprised I’ve never heard of them. I’m guessing they are new on the scene or just stayed hidden for so long! My friend Google is coming out to play again and yet again it’s hit a bit of a brick wall. It appears they have appeared at a few festivals this year, but no real information to note. Oh I wish all producers had some sort of web presence to make things a bit easier to find out more about them, but alas it’s not the case.

Stinking Bishop is a more well known name for the cheese, but that actually got its name from the perry pear juice that the cheese is immersed in during the process. I’ve just looked through my past cider/perry list and surprisingly I’ve never had this in a SV variety before. Well today is that day and fingers crossed it lives up to the other splendid SV perries I’ve had in the past. I better go find that out now shouldn’t I?

This poured a very light straw colour, completely clear and smells like a mix between pears and wine. I can’t say I’m won over by the smell but I shall soldier on. The initial taste is like a sweet, white wine. It is then followed with moderate acidity and a light dryness. I can’t say this really tastes that much like perry to be honest. It’s not too bad a perry, but not really my thing. It could certainly appeal to a wine drinker or someone who likes things on the sweeter side.

Would I buy this again?: Probably not
Overall Rating: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

