Hurst View Traditional Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Hurst View
Cider Name: Traditional Cider
Region: Staffordshire
ABV: 6.5%
Taste: Medium
Served: Half pint at room temperature
Smell: Apples
Colour: Golden/Yellow
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: West Midlands Cider Festival, West Brom
Date: 07/09/13

It’s been a while since I’ve reviewed a cider and there’s no better place to get back on the wagon than at a cider festival with around 120 ciders/perries available. With so much choice available I have resorted to trying something regional and something I have never had before. After a brief look through the expansive list, I finally decide upon the Hurst View Traditional Cider.

With this being a new producer from Ivetsey Bank, Staffordshire, finding any information about them is very tough. From the powers of Google it appears they are run by Nick Robotom and have only recently started up. Other than that it’s all a complete mystery to me. With that in mind I won’t just rabbit on about nothing. Oh no, I’ll get stuck in right now…

It smells lightly rustic with a hint of ethanol, golden/yellow in colour and crystal clear. I take in my first sip and it’s an easy going drink. You get an initial appley feeling and then backed up with some mild tannins in the aftertaste and a faint dryness. I cant really taste any acidity in this at all. It’s one of these ciders that is inoffensive and fairly tasty, but just lacking something to give it the wow factor.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,516 other followers

