Cornwall Cider Co Apple Slayer Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Cornwall Cider Co
Cider Name: Apple Slayer
Region: Cornwall
ABV: 5.7%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 500ml bottle
Smell: Rustic/Fresh apples
Colour: Golden/Straw
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

From: Cornwall Cider Co
Date: 20/05/14

Following on from the relatively successful tasting a couple of weeks ago of the Lyonesse cider, from Cornwall Cider Co, I am next going to try the other one in their range – The Apple Slayer!

When I heard the name of the cider was called Apple Slayer, I immediately imagined them running at the trees and cutting the apples down with a sword and slaying them. Thankfully it’s a little less dramatic than that and is just named after their dedicated cider makers, Mikey & Dave, who they affectionately know them as their ‘Apple Slayers’. It’s a different story behind a name as any I guess.

This cider is marketed as a light, easy drinking cider, made with a delicate blend of bittersweet Dabinett & sweet, hand-picked dessert Galas. That’s an intriguing mix if I do say so myself. A proper cider apple and a dessert apple and only them 2 types in the blend. Could it work? Well the proof is in the pudding as they say, so it’s cider drinking time….

It poured with what seemed a heavy fizz at first, though a few seconds later it was fairly calm and quiet. There was a bright, golden/straw colour to the cider and clear as day. Like with the Lyonesse, the initial smell from the bottle was very rustic/farmyardy, which then turned to a fresh apple aroma once in the glass.

I take in my first sip and there’s a lot of Dabinett taste upfront, a little tartness and then a good dry kick towards the end. There’s a little thinness to the taste, though it’s not quite a watery feel to it. I certainly feel more of the Dabinett in this than the Gala apple, which is a plus for me. I’m not a huge Eastern Style cider fan at the best of times! You can feel there is a light wine-like feel to it and a bit of sourness/shaprness, but it has a good tannic/bitter feel to it too. Acidity is on the low end of the scale for me, which is probably one of the things I personally would fault with this cider. That’s more of a personal preference thing really. Strangely for me this feels more drier than their Lyonesse, when apparently it is meant to be the other way around. Overall it isn’t a bad cider at all, but it just doesn’t perfectly fit my cider preferences.

Would I buy this again?: Yes, but not as a first choice.
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Disclaimer: This was a free sample from Cornwall Cider Co, however this had no bearing on my review of this cider.

Leave a Reply

