Loic Raison Cidre & Framboise Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Loic Raison
Cider Name: Cidre & Framboise
Region: Brittany, France
ABV: 4.5%
Taste: Sweet
Served: Lightly chilled 275ml bottle
Smell: Raspberries/Minor Apple
Colour: Dark Red
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Lightly sparkling

Review/Tasting Notes:

From: Le Bon Vin
Date: 28/10/14

The 2nd instalment of the cidres from Loic Raison is probably one of the ones I will hate most. Therefore, to make this week end with a bit more of a high, I’ve taken the plunge and will be drinking it today. Up next is the Cidre & Framboise.

Even with my limited French vocabulary, I could tell that Framboise means Raspberries in French. Well, the picture on the bottle of raspberries and a distinct red colour certainly did help give a HUGE clue! As you can tell from my opening sentence, fruit ciders are not really my thing. Maybe when I was younger it may have been more my thing to fill the Hooch/Bacardi Breezer days of my life, but that part of me is well in the past now. I like my ciders to taste of apples (which is what cider really is!) and I’ve not really found any fruit ciders that do it for me. The sweetness of the fruit added usually spoils what is sometimes a decent base cider underneath. Though a lot of fruit ciders out there is just an over sweetened mess with no real redeeming features.

Taking all the above aside for now, I will give this cider a fair crack of the whip and will rate it on its own merit and not be prejudice from the start. After all, they say you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover. The marketing blurb for this cidre is as follows:

“The pretender to the Loïc Raison throne, this newbie has proved extremely popular since its introduction to the French market. Flavoured with real raspberry juice and just a touch of sugar, the Framboise is a nod to both traditional methods and an evolving consumer palate. Thirst-quenching and moreish, it makes for a perfect accompaniment to a warm summer’s evening. Best enjoyed by itself over ice.”

One thing I’ll certainly not be doing with this cidre is putting it over any ice. Damn Magners bringing that shameful practice to the cider world! Yes, I’ve chilled it slightly in the fridge, but I want to see what flavours there really are and not over chill it and mask the true flavours. It’s interesting they added raspberry juice and sugar to this cidre. I’d have thought raspberry juice on its own would have been sufficient for sweetness. Anyway, I’ve gone on a bit too much already and will crack this open and see what this really has to offer….

The first thing I noticed was the small bottle it comes in, is it’s not even half a pint. It’s a paltry 275ml! I really can’t see why you would go any lower than 500ml myself. This one does also come in 750ml champagne style bottles too, but I’m just not a fan of bottles this small.

Going past the size of the bottle, this poured lightly sparkling, a darker shade of red and smelt predominantly of raspberries. Upon a further check on the aroma, there is a light apple feel in the background, but it’s certainly the minority of the smell.

I take in my first sip and it’s what I feared really. There’s lots of sweetness upfront, crisp raspberry flavours, a hint of cherries/berries and very lacking in an apple feel to it. The raspberry flavour is the initial feel, sharp/tanginess to it and you get a mild feel of apple and light tannins to the end of the drink. There is the mildest of mild woody aftertaste too. One redeeming feature is it’s not overly sweet and the flavours it does give feel natural enough to me. It certainly isn’t in the sickly sweet category.

It’s an easy and pleasant drink, but it feels more like a raspberry drink with a hint of cidre, rather than the other way around. The raspberries are just too overpowering for me. Don’t get me wrong, it’s good for a fruit cider (though the Millwhites Blackberry Blush is better), but it’s just not my thing.

Would I buy this again?: No. I’m not a major fan of fruit ciders.
Overall Rating: 5.5/10

Disclaimer: This was a free sample from Le Bon Vin, however this had no bearing on my review of this cider.

Leave a Reply

