Blaengawney Cider Hallets PX Cider Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Blaengawney Cider
Cider Name: Hallets PX
Region: Caerphilly
ABV: 6%
Taste: Medium
Served: Lightly chilled pint
Smell: Sweet apples/Light sherry
Colour: Golden/Yellow
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

From: Blaengawney Cider/Hallets
Date: 13/03/15

Tonight is Friday night and it’s time to kick start the weekend. As always, there’s no better way to start it than with a cider. Oh and of course it has to be a proper real cider too. Why would you want anything else to be honest?! Up first tonight is the Blaengawney Cider Hallets PX.

Whilst I was away in Brighton on a stag-do last weekend (not mine thankfully!), I briefly met up with Chris Bryant, who is one of the cider makers for Blaengawney Cider/Hallets. I think Hallets is the sub-brand of Blaengawney Cider, but it’s probably one of the questions I should have asked! It’s always confused me why they seem to go under 2 different names. I shall stick with calling them Hallets, as saying Blaengawney Cider is a bit of a mouthful! Anyway, whilst there he kindly gave me a bottle of the new season Hallets Real Cider to try and also a milk carton container full of a new cider they have blended, which is the Hallets PX.

I didn’t manage to get a huge amount of details on it, but then again having a chat after 2 days on a stag-do at 10am it probably wouldn’t have sank in anyway! The key thing to know about this cider is that it has been matured in sherry casks and they only have 50 boxes of this available according to their Facebook page. Therefore if it does taste good, then I better get my order in quick before it’s all gone! I do love a good cask matured cider personally, although I think this is a first for me to have one that’s been matured in a sherry cask. I’m all excited about trying this now, so I think I will pour out a pint and see how this tastes…

This poured golden/yellow in colour, crystal clear and has a lovely sweet apple smell, which is mixed in with a light sherry touch in there too. I take in my first sip and there’s a hint of sweetness up front, very juicy, rich apple flavour and then it goes drier when you feel the tannins come through. There’s plenty of tannins showing through to give it that slight bitter edge, with an oaky after-taste thrown into the mix. Acidity is fairly low on this one and overall it’s a very easygoing and flavoursome cider. From a personal preference point of view, I like a little more acidity in my cider and a little drier, but it’s still a very decent, well-rounded cider nevertheless. It’s one of those ciders that goes down far too easily and at 6% it probably isn’t best to be on a long session with it! Surprisingly, my cider-hating/wine-loving girlfriend even thought this was pleasant, which is praise from her. I’d happily have this cider again if I can get my hands on some!

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Disclaimer: This was a free sample from Blaengawney Cider/Hallets, however this had no bearing on my review of this cider.

Leave a Reply

