ApfelweinKontor WeinAusApfeln Bohnapfel & Boskoop Apfelwein mit Speierling (2013) Restsüss Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: ApfelweinKontor
Cider Name: WeinAusApfeln Bohnapfel & Boskoop Apfelwein mit Speierling (2013) Restsüss
Region: Hesse, Germany
ABV: 5%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: 1 litre bottle at room temperature
Smell: Acidic apples/Wine
Colour: Light straw
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Light initial sparkle/Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: ApfelweinKontor, Frankfurt, Germany
Date: 03/04/15

It’s a bank holiday weekend here and thankfully that means 4 days off from work. Oh god how I’ve needed that with a frustrating few weeks at work. With some time to myself, then what better to do than relax with a cider. That’s what life is all about isn’t it?!?! I’ve gone to my cider shelf and looked for something different to try today and I uncovered a selection of German apfelweins. Ah, I forget I even had them! Up next is the Bohnapfel & Boskoop Apfelwein from ApfelweinKontor

This apfelwein was something I picked up in 2014 from the ApfelweinKontor shop in Frankfurt and it’s a cider they have made for themselves from the Bohnapfel & Boskoop apples. The Boskoop apple looks to have dutch origins and is a very acidic apple. As for the Bohnapfel apple, it looks to be mildy acidic and a sweeter apple. How well do they work together? That’s what the tasting is for, which I will do now…

It poured surprisingly with a small head on this, which had some initial sparkle and settled to a still state. The aroma was of acidic apples and partially like a white wine would smell. I finally get around to taking in a sip and it’s very nice indeed. It’s a medium/sweet taste initially, good amounts of acidity (though not overpowering) and very mild tannins. It’s very fruity, refreshing, long-lasting flavour and just extremely easy-drinking. It’s like an eastern style cider you get here in the UK, but just a bit more acidic, which is more to my tastebuds.  I’ve given a sample to my mate and he says the initial fizz is a little champagne like, which is followed by a fruity, sweet and just a very appley taste. It’s like bottling up the taste of biting into acidic apple. It’s not a cider I would necessarily have for a session, but it’s very nice to have once in a while to bring a bit of variety in your life. My only down-point is it’s probably a little too sweet for my usual palate and I wish it was a bit more tannic.

Would I buy this again?: Yes, though not too often.
Overall Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

