Mostbaron Gourmetmost Preh Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Mostbaron Gourmetmost
Cider Name: Preh
Region: Lower Austria, Austria
ABV: 7.5%
Taste: Medium/Dry
Served: Lightly chilled 750ml bottle
Smell: Sweet pears/Wine-like
Colour: Light straw/Almost clear
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

Purchased From: Salon des Mostes Festival, Austria
Date: 18/02/16

A week has flown by since my review of the Beard & Sabre Bubbly Shipment review and it’s time for another review for you guys. Maybe I’ll make it a regular Thursday thing? We shall see how life treats me, but it could well be a regular occurrence. Up next in my cider/perry journey I thought I’d go across Europe to Austria and try some of their perry that I completely forgot I had any left on my cider shelf. Tonight I shall be trying some of the Preh perry from Mostbaron Gourmetmost.

If memory serves me right, Gourmet Most is the brand/website they have to sell this perry, but is a collaboration between the Mostbarons in Austria. For anyone who doesn’t know who or what a Mostbaron is, then they are basically a group in Austria who help promote and show the good of all the cider/perry community they have there. They are a pretty elite group of around 20 of them and even have their own uniform and currency. How cool is that?!?

This particular collaboration is called “Preh”, which translates into meaning pride, and is made up from the Speckbirne (high sugar/low acidity & tannins), Stieglbirne (juicy/sweet/sour), Dorschbirne (high tannins/acidity) & Grüne Pichlbirne (high sugar/tannins/acidity) pears from the 2013 vintage. All are fairly new varieties on me, but you can find out about anything with Google nowadays! It all sounds like it should make an interesting treat, so I best go find out if it lives up to its name and if it’s something to be proud of…

As you can see from the picture, this looks like it would be fit for a place on any dinner table, but the heathen I am can’t change my ways. It’s a pint glass all the way for me! It poured crystal clear and as still as a mouse, with the aromas of sweet pears coming from the glass and a light wine-like smell in the background too. My first sip was of smooth, crisp, delicately sweet pears, which then turns more acidic, tangy, sour/citrus & dry as the mouthful went on. It’s certainly ballsy in that respect with the acidity levels in this. Bitterness/Tannins are virtually non-existent, which is a shame, but not unexpected really at the same time. This is a perry that you definitely need to love your sourness/acidity in a drink to appreciate it because if you don’t then this may not be for you. It certainly works in small doses for me but I’d struggle to have more than 1 or 2 at a time of this.

Would I buy this again?: Yes
Overall Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a comment