Gwynt y Ddraig Happy Daze Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Gwynt y Ddraig
Cider Name: Happy Daze
Region: Glamorgan
ABV: 4.5%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: Pint at room temperature
Smell: Apple
Colour: Golden
Clarity: Clear
Carbonation: Still

Review:

When visiting The Apple, I have something of a ritual to start my drinking. I always have a proper full-pint of a cider and a half-pint of Old Bristolian, which is a good way to get me on my way to zider happiness. Recently the full-pint I have been getting is the Gwynt y Ddraig’s Happy Daze. I mainly started drinking it as I liked the name, which is as good a reason as any in my world.

The drink itself is slightly sweet but fruity and very smooth. You do get a slight initial hit to the back of the throat, but nothing too harsh and it just glides down too easily. I would say it tingles, tickles and teases the taste buds and a drink you would be happy to drink all night long. At 4.5%, it is a session cider and a pretty good one at that.

Update 18/08/12: Still sweet and smooth and tasty. Not one to be too excited but a good session cider. Very easy drinking

Would I buy this again?: Yes

Overall Rating: 8/10

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Roger M said,

    As I say on my site, had some of this at the Slaters in Corris last year. Added to the roast beef Sunday lunch, a proper Welsh treat. Excellent.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

