Westons Rosie’s Pig Review

Vital Stats:

Producer: Westons
Cider Name: Rosie’s Pig
Region: Herefordshire
ABV: 4.8%
Taste: Medium/Sweet
Served: 500ml bottle at room temperature
Smell: Sweet apples
Colour: Dull yellow/straw
Clarity: Moderately cloudy
Carbonation: Still

Review/Tasting Notes:

From: Proven Communications
Date: 18/06/13

After a whopping great tasting of the Ventons Skippy’s Scrumpy ‘Barrel 7’ Cider just now, having a commercial cider just after that will bring into comparison probably the worlds apart they really are. My next tasting will be of the Rosie’s Pig from Westons.

A couple of weeks back a PR company got in contact about sending me a sample of the new Rosie’s Pig and well how can I refuse an offer like that? This is named the Rosie’s Pig and is seen as a lighter version of the ever popular Old Rosie. I have to say I have a soft spot for Old Rosie, as it was one of the first ciders to get me into drinking proper cider. I like to reminisce on the old times, but since then my cider tastes have evolved and I rarely touch it much nowadays (with the exception of the odd Wetherspoons trip).

Rosie’s Pig is named after the first ever delivery truck that Westons purchased. The story goes it reputedly was ‘a pig to start’ and ‘a pig to drive’ and that very same truck has now been restored for the Westons farm. Don’t you just love it how the big companies just like to try and latch onto a story to get the readers interest? There’s a lot of other marketing blurb too, but the important bits is it lists it as a medium/dry, cloudy and comes in at 4.8% ABV. For anyone wanting to know when it is being released for the general public, then it will be released at the Great British Beer Festival in August. Though apparently available on draught to on trade this month. Right, now it’s cider drinking time…

This poured surprisingly still, dull yellow/straw coloured, moderately cloudy and smelt of very sweet apples. As this was a bottled version, I was expecting this to be fizzy, which surprisingly it wasn’t. That was a nice surprise to start it off with, though this is spoiled a little with how sweet it smells. My first sip was sweet, though not sickly sweet, fruity and had a mild sour tangy finish to it. Although it says medium/dry on it, I can’t see it being anything close to that. I feel it’s more of a medium/sweet feel to it or possibly even scraping a medium, with its very lightly dry end to it. The taste is pleasant, though not amazing and it’s one of these ciders you could happily drink on a session, but not sit down and enjoy its finer tastes. Overall it feels just like a toned down Westons Traditional Scrumpy, which in turn feels like a toned down Old Rosie. If you had all 3 on a tasting session, then the only difference appears to be the ABV and level of sweetness in my opinion. I can’t say I’ll be rushing back in a hurry for it, but it’s infinitely preferable to the likes of Magners/Bulmers etc.

Would I buy this again?: Possibly if no other real ciders were available
Overall Rating: 6/10

Disclaimer: This was a free sample from Proven Communications, however this had no bearing on my review of this cider.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    glen woods said,

    Where can I get bottles of rosies pig cider

    • 2

      TheCiderBlog said,

      It looks like you can get 20L BiB from various sources online (Weston’s included). Getting anything smaller looks trickier, but the best bet looks to be Waitrose. They do a 2.25L BiB http://www.waitrose.com/shop/DisplayProductFlyout?productId=405330 . I’m guessing bottles is probably an “on-trade” only thing at the moment. Maybe ask your local pub to help you out if you’re on good terms with them?

      I hope that helps you out. Me personally, I would prefer to explore more proper ciders out there. That’s always another option for you 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

